The following 21 ProJourn Steering Committee members either volunteered or were nominated, and all were seconded by the 280-plus members of ProJourn’s facebook group, to guide the Association until its launch and the election of its formal Secretariat.


  • Sholain Govender-Bateman (Uncut, Pretoria).
  • Samantha Perry (Brainstorm, Johannesburg).
  • Ebrahim Moola (FHM, Johannesburg).


  • Barry Bateman (Pretoria News, Pretoria).
  • Beauregard Tromp (The Star, Johannesburg).
  • Greg Gordon (freelance print writer, Cape Town).
  • Michael Coetzee (The Citizen).
  • Monica Laganparsad (Sunday Times, Durban).
  • Ray Joseph (freelance print writer, Cape Town).

Wire Service

  • Anso Thom (Heath-e News Service, Cape Town).
  • Justin Arenstein (African Eye News Service, Nelspruit). 
  • Jedi Ramalapa (Inter-Press Service Africa, Johannesburg).

Online and Mobile

  • Antoinette Lazarus (SABC New Media Unit, Johannesburg)
  • Jan Hennop (Dispatch Online, East London)
  • Mandy de Waal (Freelance, Pretoria)


  • Cobus Bester (Radio Sonder Grense, Johannesburg).
  • Subry Govender (Radio Deutsche Welle, Durban). 


  • Matuba Mahlatjie (SABC TV News, Johannesburg).
  • Billings Siwila (freelance TV presenter, Cape Town). 

Associate Members

  • Michael Schmidt (frayintermedia, Johannesburg).
  • Robert Brand (Rhodes Journalism, Grahamstown).